Zuula: Mityana district in central uganda

Mityana District is a district in the Central Region of Uganda. The district was created in 2005, by taking the Mityana and Busujju counties from Mubende District. Mityana is the site of the district headquarters.

Mityana District is bordered by Kiboga District to the north, Nakaseke District to the northeast, Wakiso District to the east, Mubende District to the west, Mpigi District to the southeast, and Butambala and Gomba Districts to the south. The district headquarters at Mityana are approximately 77 kilometres (48 miles), by road, west of Kampala, Uganda’s capital and largest city. The coordinates of the district are 00 27N, 32 03E.

The 1991 national population census estimated the district’s population at 223,530. In 2002, the national census estimated the district population at 266,110. In 2012, the district population was estimated at 311,600.

Agriculture is the main income-earning activity in the district. Like Mubende District, the crops grown include sweet potatoes, beans, cassava, maize, bananas, groundnuts, onions, cabbage, and tomatoes. Cash crops grown in the district include coffee and tea. There are several large-scale tea estates in the district, including Namutamba Tea Estate, located at Namutamba, and Mwera Tea Estate, located at Mwera and a member of the Madhvani Group.


Spread the love

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *