Zuula: Kayunga District in Central Uganda

Kayunga District is a district in Central Uganda. Like most other Ugandan districts, it is named after its ‘chief town’, Kayunga.

Location of Kayunga District

Kayunga District is bordered by Amolatar District to the north, Buyende District to the northeast, Kamuli District to the east, Jinja District to the southeast, Buikwe District to the south, Mukono District to the southwest, Luweero District to the west, Nakasongola District to the northwest. Kayunga, where the district headquarters are located, lies approximately 74 kilometres (46 mi) northeast of Kampala, on an all-weather tarmac highway. The coordinates of the district are:01 00N, 32 52E.

Overview of Kayunga District

Kayunga District was carved out of Mukono District in December 2000. The district consists of two counties, Bbaale County and Ntenjeru County.The land mass in the district measures approximately 1,587.8 square kilometres (613.1 sq mi).

Population of Kayunga District

According to the 1991 national census, the district had a population of about 236,200. During the 2002 national census, Kayunga District had a total population of approximately 294,600. In 2012, the district population was estimated at about 358,700. According to 2014 National Housing and Population census, the Kayunga population was at about 368,064 with 181,920 (49%) were males and 186,142 (51%) were female. The population density is 231 persons per sq. km

Economic activities in Kayunga District

Agriculture is the main economic activity in Kayunga district and represents 90% of the total employment. Kayunga practices two types of agriculture:

(a) animal husbandry or livestock farming and

(b) crop husbandry of subsistence agriculture.

Some of the crops raised in the district include:

  • Vanilla
  • Cassava
  • Matooke
  • Pineapples
  • Maize
  • Millet
  • Watermelon
  • Passion fruit
Spread the love

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *